Reply to this topicStart new topic
> WTB: Zeiss ZKP2 or ZKP3
garrick
post Apr 16 2018, 11:07 AM
Post #1

Interstellar Medium

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,785

Hello - new member here. I'm an architect and former Zeiss show presenter and programmer, experienced with the Universarium Model IX at the Hayden Planetarium in NYC and the ZKP3 at the Dreyfuss Planetarium in Newark, NJ. This was nearly twenty years ago, but I still have my program files and would love to have the matching planetarium equipment (the ZKP3, not the Universarium!). I am also renovating a building and considering installing a 16-20' dome, which would house the projector.

Two questions that I need help with:
1. What is the expected price range for a secondhand ZKP2 or ZKP3?
2. Where do I find one for sale? Is this the best forum, or are there others? Ebay? Craigslist?

I am in Michigan and can travel quite a distance for pickup if the right equipment becomes available. I see that the Dreyfuss replaced its ZKP3 in 2010 (aargh!!), but perhaps someone knows its whereabouts these days.

Thanks!

Garrick
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
moonmagic
post Apr 17 2018, 01:34 PM
Post #2

Star

Member No.: 875

Garrick,

Hello and welcome!

While the basic understanding is that something is worth what you are willing to pay for it....this can range from FREE if you are willing to bring a crew and remove the projector to upwards of $10-15K for something used, but still working. The key is to NEGOTIATE a deal. Sometimes a place changing from optical to digital are under tight time-lines to get the old unit out and the new one in. Thus, if you are willing to help them out of their jamb they may be more willing to work with you.