> Rare Birds - Unusual Planetariums
mrgare5050
post Feb 26 2007, 06:34 PM
Post #1

Gare

Group: Members
Member No.: 61

http://www.pa.msu.edu/abrams/History/Spitz_Projector.html

Inspired by Rons Spitz B pictures, why not start a whole topic on weird projectors .. I was just perusing my ol Alma Maters site, Abrahms at MSU, where I havent been since I graduated in 75, and lo and behold, they had back then a rare spitz! Spitz didnt make many dumbbells, but look at this one, each 'bell' was half a dome. g
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ron Walker
post Feb 27 2007, 08:38 PM
Post #2

Galaxy Super Cluster

Group: Root Admin
Member No.: 16

The projector your talking about was called the Spitz ISTP and was a cross between the model "B" and the "A3P" in that it had two star projectors placed at either end of the classic dumbbell design. The planet "analogs" were based on the planet projectors developed for the A3P. The interesting thing (and in my opinion, the downfall of the design) is that it did not rely on simple mechanical design. Planetarium projectors up to that time had the 23 1/2* earth axis tilt built into them mechanically. This design relied on a computer to drive the 23 1/2* tilt by manipulating the base of the entire projector in conjunction with the other axises. As with all computers their life time is short and their problems are many, thus the probable demise of this design. I note that it was replaced with a Digistar computer video projector which was replaced again in only five years. Here is the best picture I've found of this particular projector which shows its design clearly.

(IMG:http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/4521/spitzistpplanetariumbo6.jpg)

+Quote Post
mrgare5050
post Mar 1 2007, 06:34 AM
Post #3

Gare

http://www.smccd.net/accounts/csmastronomy...lanetarium.html